Tags

, ,

Me: What are you doing for lunch?
Julie: Nothing yet, why?
Me: Wanna go to an estate sale?
Julie: I thought you did those on Saturday mornings? Zach wants to get food
Me: We’ll get lunch on the way – let’s go!
 
And thus it began: The mad-dash across the metroplex to get to a MASSIVE estate sale that opened on Friday and had been excluded from my Saturday map because of its “outlier” location.

I can’t think of a better way to spend a lunch. Well, let me rephrase: I can’t think of a better way to spend a Friday lunch (because, the rest of the week I can find a patio!).

I took the pictures below (click image to make it larger) – M&C Estate Sales put on a great sale. I met Mary (the M of M&C), and asked how exactly you get into the biz. Her reply? “You can’t! You have to be born into it!” I asked one of the cashiers, “You mean, like an apartment in NYC, it has to be willed to me?” And though the reply was an affirmative, I’m sure there’s got to be some way that a commoner with a love for antiques and vintage can get in!

Ever crammed a sale into a lunch break and emerged with amazing finds?