Tags

, , , , ,

When Emily and I took our first estate sale trip, we were amazed by how many things we would simultaneously comment that we liked, we had thoughts and visions of, or that we wanted to purchase! However, there was certainly one stand-out item that we couldn’t seem to get enough of – and frequently they weren’t for sale – DOORS!

Many of the homes that we go in to are non-modern, ranging from historic to mid-1970s. Though it’s sometimes difficult to get past the decorative wrought iron that covers the front of many of these houses, it is amazing to see the evolution of the craftsmanship of doors.

Doors can be transformed into a multitude of things. There are several door projects that we have each undertaken, and so many more that we’d like to do! From the wood to the hardware, the shape (yes, doors have shape other than rectangular!), the panelling, the age….there’s so much about them that can be appreciated and used in new ways.

My first door project was a tv table. My parents renovated a 1940s cottage, and had a few leftovers once things were put back together. (Unlike something electronic, spare parts with homes are common. Check local renovations to see if there are doors destined to go home with you rather than the trashman!) I was in need of a piece of furniture that would hold my tv and dvd player, but in a design that could be used for something different later downtriad. I couldn’t find anything that I liked, so my Dod (Dear Ol’ Dad) and I got to work on making one of the giant doors work for us! After a few 2x4s, sanding, nailing, a power tool or two, and a few coats of paint, my custom door-furniture was born! You’ll notice that I left some of the hardware on – I really liked the added texture and dimension, and it was much easier to explain its previous life!

My second door project was a headboard. Not ever being one for convention, my mom found this door on a neighbor’s curb (another renovation) and knew immediately that I’d turn it into something new. Using 2x4s as legs (I screwed them in at an angle on the rough edge of the door), I used the door sideways and let it lean on the wall. The best part of this particular door was that the paint was AMAZING – the door had been a plethora of colors, robins egg blue – I believe – was second to last…and the wear was really pretty.

The last door project I undertook was probably the easiest of all. Buy door, lean on wall, look pretty. We recently moved, and the screen door didn’t look quite right in our loft, so I’ve put the door frame in storage and have the scrolls and the blue bird of happiness as wall art in our entry.

Emily’s love for doors has caused her creative juices to overflow – but the love for the integrity of one particular door has us both stymied!

This beautiful door came from a home in Jerome, Arizona. If you don’t know about Jerome, you can read about it here. The brief history of this town, and of this particular door, was given to us by its previous owner. The story goes that this town was established just after the end of the Civil War, and has seen it’s fair share of glory and infamy (it was once known as “The Wickedest Town in the West!”). The population of this once-booming mining town dwindled in the mid-1900s, and it was soon known as a ghost town. Apparently, according to the man Emily purchased the door from, the town came to an agreement at some point that they would not restore any of the buildings as they aged. This has led to a continued popularity with artists and tourists, and has maintained its ghost town fame. The previous owner of the door was sitting with an artist friend on the porch of his late 1800s home, when the back door literally fell off. The man bought the door for a sum that was worthy of the story and the door, and brought it with him to Dallas. Fast forward to a moving sale, and the man was ready to give this door a new life. Though we really weren’t prepared (even though we know better), Emily spotted the door upon arrival, paid the asking price with no haggling (I mean, $8? I think she would have given him $80!), and we loaded the door up!

The door may have an uncertain future, but it is great art all on its own.

Do you have a thing for doors? Are you using any in unconventional ways?

~Lainey