Tags

, , , ,

One of my favorite Christmas decorations is a crèche that my mom purchased when they lived in Mexico in the late 1970s. Growing up, this sweet beige & gold nativity was always out in our home. When I got married, my mom handed it down to me. Originally from Tonolá, these hand-crafted and hand-painted figurines have traveled from Mexico to New York and back down to Texas.

I love the radiating crowns on Jesus, Mary, and the Angel. The sheep and lambs look peaceful (and I think they’re smiling!). The wise men appear to be moving and anxious to arrive on the scene. Joseph seems quietly excited. The innkeeper’s wife and the little boy look on with anticipation.  They are a simple yet profound  reminder of the birth of Christ – the true Christmas story.

They are displayed on a vintage silver platter, alongside a mini-globe from the 1940s, which sits atop of a metal lamp shade, and next to an ironstone pitcher.

Do you have a favorite Christmas decoration?

~Lainey