Tags

, , , ,

While Lainey and I are all about finding new ways to display old things, we also love to laugh and get a great deal. Stepping away from the antique and vintage for a moment, I was to share one of the most fun afternoons I had this summer with my girlfriends. Right before I moved to Stillwater from Dallas, I hosted about 10 women over for what I called a “Closet Swap Party”. Everyone brought clothes, bags, jewelry, and shoes they were no longer using and “shopped” through everyone else’s stuff. We had a blast laughing at some of the clothing from the past that was still in our closets (some of it was from high school!) and also got some really great stuff.

Setting up the party was super easy! I sent out e-vites, got some snacks, and made a super easy wine punch (recipe below). Since I was moving, I was clearing stuff out anyways and so I thought why not let my friends get in on the action! Our rules were simple – take what you want, if there are 2 people wanting the same thing you farckle (rock, paper, scissors), 3+ wanting the same thing we picked a number between 1-100. Anything not taken was given to charity.

I tried to keep my grabs at a minimum since I was trying to downsize not replace, but I did end up with some great stuff! A new white dress that Julie wore in Italy, a pair really fabulous red leather loafers from Lainey, a multi-layered multi-colored beaded necklace from Meg, and other pieces. The best part of the afternoon was spending it with awesome ladies and making priceless memories.

I think this could have been done with just the accessories if you have friends that have waaay different clothing styles or don’t want a party that lasts 4+ hours. I’ve heard of similar parties where people swap coupons or other items. The key is to keep it simple, have rules before hand, and have fun!

Sparkling Pomegranate Punch (from Food & Wine)

  • 3 tablespoon(s) sugar
  • 1 cup(s) pomegranate juice*
  • 2 bottle(s) (750-milliliter) sparkling wine, chilled
  • 3/4 cup(s) late-harvest white wine, such as late-harvest Riesling chilled
  • 2 oranges, thinly sliced crosswise
  • 1 cup(s) diced fresh pineapple, 1/2 inch dice
  • 1/4 cup(s) pomegranate seeds*
  • Ice cubes, for serving

In a punch bowl, dissolve the sugar in the pomegranate juice, stirring vigorously. Add the sparkling wine and late-harvest white wine, then add the orange slices, diced pineapple, and pomegranate seeds. Serve the sparkling pomegranate punch over ice cubes.

*We used blueberries instead of seeds and a cranberry/pomegranate juice because the grocery store did not have plain pomegranate juice or fruit

~Emily~