Tags

, , , , ,

It’s no secret by now that Emily and I enjoy using vintage suitcases and trunks as functional storage. I definitely appreciate the thought and workmanship that went into these great beauties – but so often you find them in terrible condition.

Such was the case of this navy curve-topped trunk that I found at an antique show a few years ago. The $50 price tag was super enticing, but I was having a hard time getting over how rough the wood on the inside was, and how much mildew was in the remaining linen lining. Not one to skirt away from a project, I decided I’d just have to find a way to reline the interior – but for cheap.

Enter the Red Hen’s brilliant idea: find tissue paper, wrapping paper, or wallpaper that you like, and glue it in! I took it one step further and actually Modge Podged the whole interior, including the beautiful lithograph that remained unscathed on the linen.

This project was a relatively easy one, though it was a full-day worth of work. Of course, I bought the trunk in February, so I had to wait for a sunny and warm day for the Modge Podge to work correctly – but, thanks to Dallas’ ever helpfulness, I didn’t have to wait long. I purchased wrapping paper from the dollar section of Michael’s and used approximately 4 rolls. Before I started applying anything, I used a low and high grit count sandpaper to smooth out the jagged pieces of wood. I removed all of the mildewed linen and did my best to remove old glue. I learned to measure twice and cut once and laid all of the paper where it was to be. I used the Modge Podge as glue and as sealant, and coated the interior three times. I let it bake in the Texas sun and it was completely dry by the next day.

End result? A trunk that sits permanently on a small dolly that holds all of our extra blankets and quilts. We keep the interior smelling fresh (because Modge Podge does have a light but lingering chemically odor) with a dryer sheet. But, because of the extra layers of Modge Podge, the inside walls are super smooth and I never have to worry about ruining my great-grandmother’s crocheted blanket!

~Lainey