Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m going to let everyone into a little secret of The Attic Birds…we love to shop at Habitat for Humanity’s Re-Store!  There are over 800 Re-stores across the US and Canada, and they are not a only a revenue source for the organization, but they make recycling furniture, home items, appliances, and builidng materials easy (and a tax write-off)!  Anyone can donate and shop (prices are a fraction of retail) and you never know what you are going to find.

Recently, I was in my local Re-store looking for legs for the mirror table I was making; while there, I came across these really cool chairs.  They were priced 4 for $15!!  I could have easily re-upholstered these bad boys in some really cool fabric and, with a little sanding and painting, they would look brand new and totally cool!  I’m not going to lie, I am regretting not getting these chairs, but I couldn’t figure out how I was going to get them home in my little 2-door car. (Remember the door I crammed into my car last year?)  The good news is they are constantly re-stocking so who knows what will catch my eye the next time I go back!

Re-store is not only a cool and inexpensive place to shop or find inspiration, but by shopping or donating items you are supporting a great cause (not to mention being environmentally friendly). Re-store is a win-win-win!

To learn more or find your local Re-store click here!

~Emily