Tags

, , , , ,

We find inspiration everywhere we go. Whether its someone’s perfectly decorated house or a condemned wreck, we always see something we like. As you know, we love doors. So, it comes as no surprise that we have fallen head over heels for shutters. A huge thank you goes out to our friends at Vintage Market Days for posting these wonderful pictures that brought a plethora of great shutter ideas to our attention!

image
image
image
image
image
image

The great thing about shutters is their versatility. They come in a variety of shapes, sizes, and slat styles, so you can find the ones that fit your taste and project perfectly. The wall of shutters is a great alternative to paint or other another covering. It adds not only texture but great interest to a room. My favorite is definitely the shutter headboards. I’ve had a door as my headboard before, but it did add a bit of weight to my otherwise airy linens and decor. Shutters would have been a great alternative, as they have presence without heft.

These pictures got our creative juices flowing. I’m trying to figure out what I’ll do first; I’m leaning towards the centerpiece because of its low commitment and easy transferability. Emily has set her sight higher — she’s looking at making this side table, as found on Good Housekeeping’s site:
image

~Lainey