Tags

, ,

Are you ever walking around somewhere and stop in your tracks because something is SO out of place? I work in healthcare and was in a hospital when I came across this, and had one of those moments:

Blast from the past! I’ve got no idea how to date phone booths, but this hospital first had buildings at this location in the late 1940s. I was still using payphones in high school, but have watched their numbers dwindle to next to nothing. So, I was both taken aback and pleasantly surprised to see these relics in the hospital basement!

I’m not sure what was behind the many closed doors around them… Perhaps these booths heard the fathers of newborn children call their loved ones, family members tell others about a critical surgery, or perhaps they even heard the cries of loss. Though their phones are absent, their presence and history remains.

~Lainey