Tags

, , , ,

I love getting confirmation. It means that I like something that someone else – this time, an editor of a respected design and decor magazine – liked and thought was interesting enough to write about. This time, it’s not confirmation for something that I collect, but it was something I admired in a recent issue of Country Living.

CLSay hello to this hand-painted milk-glass sanitizing container from the 1890s. I was shopping around in Curiosities, one of my favorite local antique stores, when I walked past a cabinet holding this beaut!
image
image
image
image

I did a double-take, triple-take, went home to find my magazine – and went back again! If someone had told me that antique barbershop equipment and collectibles were the next big thing, I would have nodded and moved along. However, Ms. Melissa Page’s commentary alongside CL’s (always) well staged and edited photos truly drew my eye. That’s why I knew that this antiseptic jar was important – or at least interesting.

CL picCL closeupCL descriptionAs far as I know, this milk-glass container (with its non-original lid) is still available. And, for $65, you’re already winning, as CL says they “command about $100 apiece”!

~Lainey