Tags

, , ,

Since the beginning of time, women have been searching for ways to make themselves look better. Modification jewelry and whale-bone girdles came and went, while curling irons and facial salves improve with time. Judging from the number of mascaras hyped in commercials and sold in my local beauty department, eyelashes have been a target of beautifcation.

Santa left this little gem in my stocking this last year:
imageimage

Eye-Lash-Ine. Note the copyright date: June 20, 1916. Victorian women were concerned with their eyelashes! (And, likely, so were Edwardian woman; but as I mentioned last week, makeup was a rarity among the upper class.)  Directions: When retiring, bathe the eyelids in warm water for about ten minutes, using soft cloth or sponge, then dry thoroughly and apply Eye-Lash-Ine to the edges of the eyelids with the finger tip, rub or massage the eyelids gently at the same time.
image

The bloggers over at Beaut-e online say that Eye-lash-ine came out about the same time as “Maybell Laboratories produced their Lash-Brow-Ine, another eyelash growth promoter, and the first product released by the company that eventually became the giant, Maybelline.” I’m going to guess that name infringement was not as big of a deal back then.

Lash-Brow-IneI’ve not been able to find much information on Eye-lash-ine — it’s obvious they didn’t make it to modern times, but I am curious how long they made it.
imageimage

The tin was too pretty to put in a drawer, so my Eye-Lash-Ine is displayed in my bathroom. Until scientists come up with the balm that makes my eyelashes quadruple in quantity and volume, I think I’ll stick with collecting the empty beauty jars of yesteryear.

~Lainey