Tags

, , , , , ,

A friend recently threw a “Come as Your Favorite Ginger” surprise birthday party for a mutual friend. While I won’t go into all of the hilarity and costumes that ensued, I will take a moment to spotlight my moment as Joan from AMC’s hit tv series Mad Men.

Joan from MadmenThough Joan may have made some questionable choices in the past, she’s never gone wrong with her wardrobe! (source)

The hair was surprisingly difficult! It took me nearly an hour and I gave up on the back of it in favor of ensuring the front was good. I used this video as inspiration for both the hair and makeup. Next time I’ll be sure to practice more – the beehive-French-twist has a certain yesteryear elegance I wouldn’t mind visiting from time to time.
imageJoan may favor color, but I decided to let the jewelry and shoes speak for me. This sweater dress has a pleasing, and, like Joan, work-appropriate neckline, and hits below the knee. Paired with a pair of throw-back style leopard pumps, I felt wiggly with the best of the ’60s.

image

Two of Joan’s signature accessories are her pen necklace and a brooch. I improvised with a silver chain and mini-pen I had, but sourced this fabulous branched brooch from our Etsy shop.
imageAt the Antique Elegance Show last fall, I purchased these gorgeous pearl and rhinestone Miriam Haskell clip-on earrings, which added a touch of elegance.
imageI also borrowed this wonderful Ronay for Neiman Marcus bag from our Etsy shop.

RonayI had a great night channeling my inner Joan – blondes may have more fun, but I think Joan has more fun than us all!
image~Lainey