Tags

, , , , ,

I have a great idea. In fact, I believe this is such a fantastic idea, that I scrapped the other post I had for today to put this one in. No kidding – that good.

The Thrifties

It’s that time of year when all of the holidays and their related parties are over. Halloween through Valentine’s Day – all of the majors are over until Memorial Day. We’re at the age where there’s no Spring Break to get us out of our winter doldrums (Emily is the exception), so we’ve been watching the red carpet of the Grammys and the Oscars with no outlet.

What is one supposed to do when they’ve got all this fashion energy and no outlet? It’s poor form to upstage a bride, so Winter & Spring weddings are out, and senior prom doesn’t include seniors.

I present to you: The Thrifties. It’s simple, really. Dispatch yourself and your friends to your local thrift store(s), find the best dress and suit they’ve got to offer, and host a cocktail/mingle/dance party like none other!

I saw this two-piece polyester gem today at the Salvation Army, and she’d definitely be making her (third/fourth/twelfth) debut at my Thrifties party! (Note: those are not spots, those are rhinestones. And, the that sheer overlay is actually a cape. Genius.)
imageAnd then there was my Tacky Prom birthday party dress from a few years back – Betty White’s got nothin’ on me!

Lainey 2004So, though The Thrifties likely won’t win you an invite to Elton’s infamous party or a shiny little gold man, it could win you Miss or Mister Thriftie 2013. Or something.

~Lainey