Tags

, , , , , , ,

In an effort to save money on negotiables in our early marriage, I did my best to stay away from the things that are marketed to us, the brides-that-were: the wives. Magazines promoting nesting, cooking, and starting a family were overwhelming, as were their strategically placed ads between the advice column on “What’s the best way to store my bridal bouquet?” and the reader write-ins “I wish I’d kept my bouquet, now what?”.

Bridal and wedding keepsake-ry is a market in itself. Everyone has “new” a take on how you should preserve you wedding memories–and most come with a pricetag that reminds you it wasn’t your clever idea.

My not-too-pricey solution to the keepsake conundrum is an antique icon or altar box. I was innocently walking through an antique mall in Dallas and I stumbled upon this incredible gold case literally lying on the floor. I couldn’t help but appreciate the fleur de lis at the top, the detailed cutouts around the door, the impeccable shape, and the lovely paper that lined the solid walls. The wood on the back of the box, plus the style and condition of the piece, lead me to believe that it’s likely French and from the early 1900s.

bridal box (1) bridal box (2) bridal box (3) bridal box (4) bridal box (5) bridal box (6) bridal box (7)My bouquet, hub’s boutineer, our ring boxes and wedding program, and our sweet cake topper fit nicely into the case. (Did you see the groom’s kilt? The Red Hen made that happen!) A clipped bundle of thistle to filled in the dead space — and voila! A custom bridal box that holds the special somethings from our wedding, didn’t break the budget, and blends in well with the rest of our decor.

~Lainey

PS – If you have used a floral preservative and had a great experience, would you leave a comment with brand and thoughts? My bouquet is 3 years old and a little crispy – but I’d like to use something more permanent than hairspray to keep it held together.