Tags

, , , ,

I absolutely love my engagement and wedding rings. I love them for many reasons besides their sparkle — the center stone has been passed down for 3 generations, my hubs lovingly had the ring custom-made to fit the delicate stone, and, of course, because it symbolizes the past, the present, and the future.

My great-grandfather had great taste. My great-grandmother, Mommom, wore her engagement and wedding rings every day, and often let me try it on and enjoy the shine. The band is simple and typically Art Deco, with etching around the thin diameter, rather than stones. I’ve loved this ring for years, and was honored when my mom passed it on to me. Though we didn’t use it as my wedding band, I’ve kept it to wear.
image
image
image
image

I realized that this was the perfect ring to wear travelling, as there’s nothing to the thief’s eye to attract attention. I take this ring on our climb, not only as a symbol of my marriage, but to remind me of the strength that Mommom always displayed. She came to America from Holland as a young adult, forged a path to a great life for herself, and for my great-grandfather. And, as they say, the rest is history. Without her, I may have come to be a young woman on a farm in Friesland, rather than a metropolitan-dwelling Attic Bird that I am!

~Lainey

Remember this if you’re commenting or asking a question!