Tags

, , , ,

For some, Labor Day is the end of summer. A last weekend of relaxation before the hustle and bustle of fall, the school year, and of course, football! For me, the past few Labor Days have been filled with lots and lots of labor!  Last year it was the weekend of silver polish and glass cleaning.  This year, I spent my Labor Day weekend clearing out my late great-aunt and uncle’s home in Louisville, KY.

Most of the weekend was spent going through closets, dressers, and every cabinet deciding what would go into a sale and what would be dispersed among family. The house was packed – and even though we filled up my SUV and a 24-foot truck with stuff, there was still cabinets and closets bursting with all kinds of treasure.

Over the next several months (because I have that much to talk about!) I will be posting about some of the really interesting things I found and learned over the weekend.  My aunt and uncle were estate salers and enjoyed rehabbing furniture. I brought home some unfinished pieces and I look forward to completing their projects.  One is this victrola cabinet that will be turned into a minibar…

DSC_2943

I also got some great pieces for my home and have already started incorporating them into my home.  Here is a sneak peak of stuff to come!

buffet

Hope you all had a wonderful Labor Day weekend and Happy Fall!

~Emily