Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of our standard pieces of advice for people who ask what to do with a single item (i.e. creamer without its sugar or a single glass) is, “put some flowers in it!”

I recently picked up 8 clear “coca-cola”-shaped glasses for our shop, and there was one dark blue/black glass in the bundle.  Normally we’d sell odd number sets as “8 plus a bonus” or “8 and a spare” but since this extra glass was a completely different color, I decided to keep it separate.

It’s a good thing I did, because yesterday while grocery shopping at Wal-mart (I live in Stillwater, OK this is the best I can do), I came across a bundle of fall flowers for less than $6!  I thought they were so pretty and would look fantastic in the spare glass. Plus it was something I could keep on my desk without taking up too much space.

I cut the stems so that the blooms hit right at the opening of the glass and that was the extent of my arranging. The end result was a fragrant arrangement that is the perfect size for my desk!

flower arrangment

Hopefully the smell of beautiful flowers will inspire my creativity and keep me focused on getting my schoolwork done!

~Emily

P.S. Here is a picture of the clear glasses!  You will be able to find these and other great finds at our Vintage Market Days booth November 8-10th!

Clear glass