Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A while back I bought a large shoebox of vintage lace.  Some of it was lace ribbon, some was old lace collars and cuffs.  I didn’t have a project in mind, but figured that I would eventually come up with something to do with it all.  I haven’t yet, but the box sits there, taunting me a bit.

Luckily for me, when I got this lace doily, I did not have the same problem.  I knew exactly what to do with it, I was going to frame it and hang it on the wall!

I bought a frame from Hobby Lobby and used pins to help keep the doily in place without causing any damage.  To smooth out a  few creases, I covered the lace with a thin dish towel ironed it on the “cotton” setting (test it on a small area first to make sure the iron doesn’t damage the lace).  The end result is a beautiful way to display a work of art and put a different texture on one of my walls.

lace

Often at estate sales, you willl come across old lace.  Pick up and imagine it framed, this is an easy, no sew way to display beautiful lace without being too much like your grandma!

Framed lace would also make great gifts for holidays!

~Emily