Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

We talk about how to turn a lot of things into vases for flowers and how to re-purpose items to fit in the modern home (I use a tea cup to hold my mascara and eye liner pencils in my bathroom).  As I was doing some cleaning and organizing this weekend, I decided to put some old stuff to a new use.

I inherited these pressed glass oil and vinegar ewers and this crystal bowl this summer and just had them sitting on a buffet collecting dust.

Empty Ewer

As I was working on my living room on Saturday, I decided to give them a purpose.  I turned one ewer into a small bud vase and put some flowers that a very special person gave me in it.  I used the other as a room freshener and placed some scented reeds in it.

My favorite re-purpose was the crystal bowl.  At the beginning of the year I gave up cable and am down to 1 remote and don’t really use it once the TV is on (I use Google’s chromecast and for the most part control the TV with my phone), so I decided the crystal bowl would be a perfect remote caddy.  And it worked awesomely!

Ewer

If you like the idea of using vintage glassware as vases, storage containers, etc but don’t have any, check out estate sales.  Pressed and cut glass was super popular back in the day and so estate sales are flooded with them.  Unless they are signed, the value isn’t what they used to be, so you are likely to get them for a good deal.

Check out these others posts about re-purposing different items as vases!

~Emily