Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Valentine’s Day is Friday and the Attic Birds are definitely filled with a lot of love this year! Love for our special someones, our friends and family, and love of vintage! In fact we are so filled with love, that we are going to give you 2 posts in 1 today!

First, Lainey will be spending the weekend of love at the Antique Elegance Show in Richardson. Have your honey take you to this show! We promise there are goods for guys and for gals. (And, if you’re to that point in your relationship, there are *amazing* jewelers at this show. Just saying.)

Saturday morning at 9a we start with a Style Show inspired by Downton Abbey. Fun fact: Our very own Steven Porterfield has sold clothing to the show’s costume designers, and has seen them on the screen! “The style show will feature the clothing of the early 1900′s through the 1920s, and will showcase the fashions of women from the Ballroom to the Kitchen. Steven will present 45 complete changes in his “A Portrait of the Aristocracy”.” ($5.00 admission for the Style Show.)

Richardson Civic Center – Saturday & Sunday, 10a-5p. $5 admission is good for both days! All the info you need is here on the AE website and Facebook page.

Second, if you are like me, the thought of going out to a fancy restaurant on Valentine’s Day is about as appealing as a root canal (which you may need after all of the Valentine’s Day candy is consumed).  I’ve never done the fancy Valentine’s Day restaurant date and the whole thing just sounds like one big let down. Sooo I am cooking dinner at home on Friday and have spent the last few days trying decorate my dining table so the meal is special.  I’m on a grad school student budget so I’ve tried to use things that I already had around the house, this is one of those times that collecting vintage serving pieces has really paid off.  Other than some conversation hearts, stickers and candles, everything else I already had at home.

2014-02-11 09.15.29

I’m going with a red and cream color palate (really going out of the box here) because I have red chargers and fabric napkins from my Christmas decorations (multi-purpose).  I also have my great-aunt’s Wedgewood china in Patrician to give things a formal look.  I don’t know how to fold fabric napkins in a cool way so they are pulled through a wooden napkin ring and set on top of the plates.

For the menus, they are just printed off and glued on some cardstock with a couple of stickers from Hobby Lobby (scrapbooking section). I place these under the napkins.

Plate

The centerpiece is a silver tray that was my great-grandmothers and I spread conversation hearts around the bottom.  Instead of doing flowers, I am using a milkglass compote that I got at an estate sale and some floating heart candles (Hobby Lobby).  I also have a couple of non-vintage candlesticks and a pair of bird salt and pepper shakers to round out the centerpiece.

2014-02-11 09.15.51

I set the table for 4 because it would look weird with only 2 settings and four chairs.  I put Hershey’s kisses in the other 2 wine glasses for a little fun (there’s a chance these will be gone before  the 14th).

No matter what your relationship status, take some time this Valentine’s Day to acknowledge and appreciate all the love in your life!

~Emily