Tags

, ,

I found a lovely chandelier about 7 years ago. It had a great home in my apartment, though is tenure was brief. When I left that apartment, I was determined to continue this chandelier’s renaissance, and stored it in my parent’s garage. Now, finally in my forever home (yes, like an adopted puppy), that chandelier can sparkle once again!

image

Here was the before: the perfunctory bathroom fixture with no personality
image

Here is the during: I only had to redo the ends of the existing wiring, as it was in great shape when I picked it up. I dusted off the dust and attached it, using the “measure once, cut twice” method of determining screw length. I failed to take pictures during this part because I was sure each time was the last time I’d have to unscrew and rescrew it. (Sorry about that! If there’s interest, I’ll find another lighting project to do. Only the best for our fans!)

image

image

image

If you’ve never exchanged a light fixture, it’s easier than it looks.
-turn off the electric breaker
-remove the existing and examine what you’re working with. Any frayed wires, loose bits, or jagged edges are best repaired by an electrician.
-make sure your bracket can handle the weight of your new fixture. I have a tendency to over-secure, which I don’t think is a bad thing!
-connect white to white and black to black. Ensure your plastic caps are tightly fastened over the copper wires
-connect your fixture base to the bracket. Again, over-securing could help prevent a future problem.
-turn on the power and voila! You have light!

And, the after!

image

A sparkly ceiling treat that enhances our bathroom! Looking forward to enjoying a soak in my clawfoot by the light of this understated chandelier.

~Lainey