Tags

, , ,

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about accent walls that are more “wait…hey…that’s interesting!” and less “whoa! look at that!” One of the ways this can be successfully executed is to use a monochromatic palette and to insert texture rather than subject matter.

Reviewing my Pinterest thought-stash revealed I’ve been thinking about this sort of thing for a while:

medallian wall - pinterest

(source unknown, Pinterest)

I particularly love the shades of blue – though, that makes the medallions much more of a focal point, rather than a texture element.

I’ve got a few smaller and odd-shaped walls/spaces in my old house that might benefit from a similar treatment. A wall of ceiling medallions in all white – or even a shade of grey – could be the perfect way to fill the space without overwhelming the eye.

~Lainey