Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve found a new source for finding vintage goodies…online auctions!

Auctions are a great way to find deals on vintage or antique furniture, decor, jewelry, etc…you and those bidding with you determine the price not the seller. Online auctions are great when you live in a small town like I do and the good estate sales are hours away.

I recently participated in an online auction with Caring Transitions (http://www.ctonlineauctions.com/index.asp) and won this pair of brass lamps (I really loved the shades) for $36!

???????????????????????????????

The risk of online auctions is you have to go by the pictures and can’t look at the items in person (unless you are close enough to go to a preview) so you don’t really know if you are getting a good deal or not.

My strategy on this auction was to set my limit at what I’d be willing to pay at an estate sale and not go over a penny over. Usually you will have to pay a buyer’s premium (it averaged $3 an item for what I bought) and possibly sales tax, so you want to keep that in mind when setting your max price. I lost on these beauties when the bids exceeded $40 and $65 respectively.

???????????????????????????????

 

???????????????????????????????

Hopefully these items turn out to be what I hoped for and I will update y’all when I pick them up!

~Emily