Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When I think about my experience this past weekend at Marburger Farms, all I can really say is, “WOW!” My first trip down there was nothing short of perfection: best friend, gorgeous weather, fabulous antiques, and even a celebrity spotting (check out our Facebook page to see who it was)! We are going to spend the next couple of weeks discussing the trends we spotted and the things that inspired us, but first I wanted to give you my take on the weekend and my experience at Marburger Farms (MF).

Howdy

You definitely want to get there early in the morning before the gates open. Not because there is such a long line to get in, but because there is only one road that leads to Marburger and there are several open air markets along that road. If you come late, sitting in traffic will suck up your shopping time.

bands

Marburger is not a garage sale, flea market, or junk sale. It is a juried show and so the quality of merchandise is waay higher than that at a flea market or even at First Mondays in Canton, TX. This fact is important to know because the prices reflect the quality – doesn’t mean you can’t find great deals at MF, but they won’t be at rock bottom prices. However, going on the last day of the show did get us some good deals with vendors who wanted to pack up as little as possible.

purchases

When you plan your trip, if you can spend a couple of days in the area you should do it. MF takes a full day (we were there from open to close), but there are several other markets and antique shops in the area that you don’t want to miss. None of the other markets are any where near the quality of MF as a whole, but still worth the stop. Fortunately, we were able to hit a few of the ones that stay open late on our way out of town and found some good deals a long the way.

My last observation from this weekend was how incredibly friendly everyone was at the show. From the gals in the Marburger office giving us a warm welcome (and hello, a free t-shirt) to the vendors taking time to talk to us and tell us about their items, everyone was wonderful and really made the experience.

It really was a great weekend that I’ll never forget and I can’t wait for the Spring show!

us

I do want to take this opportunity to thank Red Hen and Dod for their hospitality and friendship. I’m so blessed to have Lainey and her family be a part of my family and they really went out of their way to make my first Marburger a success!

Stay tuned for more posts about Marburger Farms! We have some new project ideas and trends to share that inspired us!

~Emily

Disclosure: Tickets were provided by Marburger Farm. The opinions expressed herein are those of the author alone.