Tags

, ,

If you’ve been on Pinterest in the last week or so, you’ve seen that Arm Knitting is now a thing. Susceptible, as I am, to trendy crafting projects, I dove in and purchased better yarn than I really needed wool yarn. I photo-documented the journey (you’re welcome) and will share below. But first, a shout-out to Anne at Flax and Twine for having this photo-tutorial that makes it so anyone (no, really) can make this beautiful cowl scarf.

Now, there are some of you who might think this is a silly project. However, I defend not only my participation, but my finished project. This was so much harder than I thought it would be, so we got lots of personal satisfaction that we persevered and finished beautifully. This scarf is a whole lot of snuggly, slouchy goodness, and I would highly encourage you to give it a whirl! A recommendation: whether you follow the blog entries or purchase the downloadable directions (well played, Anne), I suggest you print them out. When you are making “the stitches as tight as you can while still being able to maneuver” also known as forced double-jointing-your-wrists (I kid), it’s hard to flick your screen awake, much less zoom in to see what her fingers and yarn are doing.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Taaa-daaaaaa!
image

~Lainey

P.S. Yes, we know this isn’t a traditionally vintage post. However, you might notice that for every vintage bit we do, there’s a modern counterpart. The Attic Birds motto is “Integrating vintage into your every day life” (or something like that), and our blog reflects our lifestyles. In that way, we’re slowly transitioning into more of a lifestyle blog, rather than purely vintage drive. We hope that’s ok, and we look forward to traveling this wider path with you!