Tags

, ,

Dallas only gets 2 weeks of winter per year – but when it sets in, it gets very cold very quickly. So, it should have been no surprise that the heating bill for My Old House was astronomical. Key word: should.

I fell off the window treatment wagon a while ago, and haven’t been very interested in getting back on. But, knowing that half my heating battle is leaky windows (despite their double pane), I went in search of suitable curtains. Once obtained (thanks, Ikea, for keeping things simple!), I wanted to be sure I didn’t lose the easy yet curated, vintage-y but modernly lined structure of my living room decor. I found this tutorial to be very helpful in understanding where to hang my rod — and am thrilled that the cardboard stencil worked better than that one from the other week.

Miss Mustard Seed was genius with this tutorial. I used the cardboard insert from the drapery packaging as my template.

MissMustardSeed curtain template

Apartment Therapy & This Old House both had visuals that helped me figure out where to hang the rod.

ApartmentTherapy curtain suggestion ThisOldHouse curtain suggestion

The living room is too much of a mess right now (see: too many decor bits left undone!) to take photos – but know that I’m not only happy with the results, but we’re now staying MUCH warmer.

~Lainey