Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I have a tendency to be drawn to stuff that has birds on it. Now, my house is not some crazy bird cage where everything is bird themed, but I do have number of items with birds on them. And, I’m not going to lie, when I add to my bird collection, it makes me smile.

One of my finds at Marburger were these amazing hand colored lithographs from the Red Hen at Commandant’s Cottage Antiques and Books. These were originally in the book, A History of the Earth and Animated Nature, by Oliver Goldsmith (1854). You can read about the lithographic printing process here.

These prints aren’t quite standard frame size. I will eventually get them custom matted and framed, but for now found some simple 9 x 11 frames at Hobby Lobby and placed the prints on top of the mat (so there were no gaps). I also put the corresponding sleeves inside the frame so that I’d be able to keep the labels with the prints.

all 3 framed

I plan on keeping these grouped together as a mini collection/gallery wall. I just have to figure out which wall to put them on!

Books can be a great source to find awesome prints that can be framed and used for decor. Plus, framing the pages is a way to preserve beautiful illustrations if a book starts to fall apart. Half Price Books has great sections of different coffee table books at low prices.

~Emily

Fun Fact: Oliver Goldsmith is known for writing The Vicar of Wakefield, The Deserted Village, a couple of plays, and possibly coined the phrase “goody two-shoes”.

Disclaimer: Friends and family, while I enjoy birds, not every gift needs to be bird themed

Disclosure: Tickets were provided by Marburger Farm. The opinions expressed herein are those of the author alone.