Tags

,

Whether you heard it from your mother or from My Big Fat Greek Wedding,  there’s no denying that a little bit of Windex can go a long way. 
image

I wish I’d taken before and after pics of my Marburger gold-filled bracelet, as Buffy imparted this same knowledge on us as she shined the tarnish and permanent marker price off my pretty little bracelet. Buffy did mention that any ammonia based cleaner will work to de-grime and shine most jewelry –  save for pearls, opals, and other soft gems.

This is particularly timely and useful advice for the other Attic Bird, as she has a new piece of jewelry to keep sparkling! (Best wishes, again!!)

A word of caution: if you’re unsure how your jewelry will do in the cleanser, particularly your antique heirlooms,  spot test and/or consult your jeweler.
image

Here’s the before and after on my rings today. They were both in undiluted Windex for 20 minutes, rinsed in water, gently scrubbed with a child’s toothbrush, and soaked for an additional 20 minutes. (Top before, bottom after)

image

image

image

image

image

image

~Lainey