Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have a very long to do list of projects that I have been meaning to get to or finish this summer. The problem is that I have a dissertation to write, a job to find, and a wedding to plan for that keeps getting in my way of getting these projects finished! As a tribute to my unfinished projects, I thought I’d look back on some of the projects Lainey and I have completed over the last few years. Maybe it will help motivate me to get some of these other things done! At the very least, maybe it will give you some ideas for your summer projects!

One of my favorite projects was the transformation of this butler’s tray. I loved how it turned out and over time became one of my favorite pieces in my living room. That is until my 2 senile dogs got caught between it and the couch and squabbled in the confined space. The dogs came out fairly unscathed, but the stand wasn’t so lucky.

broken

 

Unfortunately because of the way the leg broke, I can’t figure out a way to fix the stand to be able to withstand the weight of the tray. So I am now on the hunt for a replacement! I love my dogs, but Della is now a happy Virginian resident and Oscar is comfortably hanging out behind my office chair.

della

 

20150717_093404

Another great summer project (one that I plan to tackle too) is the cleaning and restoration of a vintage trunk. You can find these super cheap at estate sales all the time and they make great storage.

Lainey found the perfect spot at the top of her stairs to house her trunk! It is right outside of their den/guest room and so it is still a great storage spot for extra blankets.

trunk

 

Another item we see a lot at estate sales are old rusty fans. Usually found in the office or garage of homes, they have a lot of character and even if not functioning make really fun decor when cleaned and restored. It’s an easy project! Here is Lainey’s how-to restore a vintage fan. It also found a home upstairs in the den of her home.

fanWhat summer projects have you finished or are hoping to get to this summer? Or is there a project you are thinking about but not sure how to execute? Let us know in the comments and we’ll see if we can help you out!

Happy hunting and crossing things off the list!

~Emily