Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Things have been so crazy around here that finishing projects and starting new ones has had to take a back seat for me. This past weekend I was in Chicago doing my first round of interviews at potential schools (15 in 2 days!!) and school started back up. Now in addition to finishing my dissertation, I’ve got to teach 70 students the basics of marketing research. Oh and there’s this big event in 132 days that I am supposed to be planning (hint: my wedding).

All of this is to say that for today’s post, I had to turn to Pinterest for inspiration and something to talk about. Thankfully, I have a board labeled “Ideas” where I pin projects that I hope to one day have the time to attempt.

Ideas

As I was perusing my pinspirations, I came across this lighting project that I will one steal borrow. Back in 2011, Retro Renovation post a list of 24 ideas for upcycling items for pendant lights. Many of the ideas were things we’ve seen before (e.g. mason jars, wire baskets, etc.), but they also had a picture of decanters as pendants! MIND. BLOWN.

If you have been reading our blog, you know how much we love decanters so when I saw this I squealed a little. These decanter lights are such a cool idea and would look awesome and could class up the bar in your basement den or even grouped over your dining room table as a classy chandelier. I would probably use glass decanters over crystal (it would hurt my heart less if I broke one in the process).

Since I have yet to attempt this project, the DIY steps have to come from other sources.

Here is a link with instructions on how to cut glass with yarn and nail polish (disclaimer: I’ve never tried this technique).

Here is a link with instructions on how to assemble the lights. You can get kits at Lowes, Home Depot, etc.

If DIY isn’t your style, Lee Bloom will ship to the US…

In any case, this is one of the best uses for a decanter that I’ve seen and I hope one day I have a place where I can install a few of these.

So cool!

~Emily