Tags

, , ,

Large holes and gashes left in our walls by our home’s previous owner have driven me nuts wince we’ve lived here. (Note: window treatment hardware is part of the house, you’re supposed to leave it when you go!) I’m not a huge fan of window treatments in general, so I’ve had a hard time finding the right way to deal with the problem. Thanks to some Pinteresting and little creativity, I now have these great window valances that (1) took less than an hour to make and hang and (2) cost less than $20 total!
image

The secret is foam panels, my friends! Found at Home Depot, this condensed Styrofoam is light, easy to cut, and ready to be told what to do. (It is also messy and clingy, so keep your vacuum cleaner handy.)
image

I cut the boards to be 3″ wider per side than my windows, and then cut two more 3″ pieces to make the valances stand away from the window. Finishing nails (1.5″-2″) held the pieces together.
image
image

I found fabric on sale at Joann’s — that saying “measure twice, cut once” would have saved me a second trip to the fabric store…. Buy your fabric 8″ longer and wider than your foam board. Better to have extra than not enough! I taughtly pulled the fabric* around the boards, securing with straight pins. Corners will be ugly, and that’s okay–pin however you need to to get a smooth fold from the outside. Once done, I looked for loose spots and spot-tightened. (*Pro tip: iron your fabric before you pin it to ensure no creases that will distract and drive you crazy!)
image
image
image
image
image

Hanging the valances was the most challenging part of this project — it would have been easier had I enlisted sweet hub’s extra hands rather than keeping it purely DIY. Be sure to use a level, as you don’t want to break down too much of the Styrofoam with superfluous nail holes. You’ll be nailing through the fabric and foam board, so use finishing nails that are 1.5-2″ long. I only used one per side, nailing about a third of the way down from the top.
image

And, tada! My cheater window valances not only cover the holes, but they help tie in the colors of the living room, dining room, and kitchen, creating a more fluid space. I’ve gotten compliments on how nice my treatments look, and, until today, no one would have known they were done so easily!
image

~Lainey