Tags

Wait – don’t go – I promise there’s nothing ookie, spooky, creepy, or weird about this post. In fact, it starts with a really sweet story.

Once upon a time, I met a sweet woman who was wearing a wonderful opal necklace. I complimented her, and further conversation revealed that it was a locket that held the ashes of her late husband.

I’ve never seen anything like it! I’ve read the stories that say I can be turned into jewelry after I go – but I hadn’t thought about the simpler route of keepsake jewelry.

(The story is about to get better – so stick around!)

This gentle soul went on to tell me that, in fact, though the necklace was for her husband’s remains, that not much of him remained inside. I leaned in, desperate to hear what on earth she meant. The pendant hung from a small screw-pin, which had come loose at some point during the day. A search ensued, but she turned up empty handed, thinking the locket lost. That evening, as she prepared for bed, she found her husband in her bra! She winked, “dirty man, had to have his hands on them one last time!”

You have no idea how many times I’ve laughed thinking about this story!

For as long as can be remembered, people have worn a form of keepsake jewelry. Whether it’s a heart with a photo, a locket of a child’s hair, or Victorian hair art, we’ve wanted to keep our loved ones close, even after they’re gone. Whether you choose to memorialize your loved one with or in a piece of jewelry, know that you’re in great company.

~Lainey