Tags

, , ,

I’ve always been a pretty good cook, but I never cooked much when I lived by myself because I get tired of leftovers and it’s just not that much fun. However, now that I’m a married woman, part of my responsibility is to make sure my husband has a home-cooked meal every night…

Just kidding (I could barely keep a straight face while typing that sentence)!!

Even though it is not my job to make sure my husband is well fed (he’s perfectly capable), we’ve established the rule that whoever doesn’t cook, cleans. Well, I hate doing dishes so I’ve taken on the cooking in our dynamic.

I’ve hit a couple of home runs recently and felt like I should pass on what I discovered!

You can make spaghetti sauce from a jar taste better.

Let’s face it, spaghetti sauce from a jar isn’t good. However, when the alternative is grabbing something at McDonald’s, jarred sauce is the better choice (I think). So when I needed to make a quick meal and I still wanted to impress my husband, I tried a few things to glam up my Ragu sauce. It turned out amazing!

First I sauteed a chopped onion and some minced garlic for a couple of minutes before I added my ground turkey to the pan. Once the meat was cooked, I drained the water out and put the meat aside on a plate.

I then deglazed the pan with some red wine (maybe around 1/4 of a cup) and added the sauce and meat into the pot. I let the sauce warm up. Once it was heated up, I added a pat of butter and let it melt before taking the sauce off the stove!

That’s it! Definitely not your mom’s homemade sauce, but way better than just the jar stuff!!

spaghetti

Kohlrabi is delicious in this low-calorie recipe from Skinnytaste.com

One of our New Year’s resolutions is to try more new vegetables. So while at the Farmers Market, we picked up a kohlrabi for $1. We figured the investment was low enough to make it worth the risk.

I found this Au Gratin recipe from Skinnytaste and really wanted to try it. I figured I could swap the turnip for the kohlrabi (especially since kohlrabi is a german turnip) and I was right! This recipe is ridiculously good! I could bathe in the sauce. Holy crap it was good!

I’m not a food photographer, but hopefully this photo captures the yumminess. Seriously, I will try kohlrabi again because of this recipe! (Click here to find out what kohlrabi is!)

20160124_201524

I’ve yet to have any major kitchen fails, but I’m due. When it happens, I’ll be sure to share with y’all – it’s bound to be funny (after the fact).

Bon appetit!

~Emily