Tags

, ,

I’ve always had an appreciation for calligraphy, but haven’t invested much time in learning it for myself. A recent stream of party invites, and a renewed effort in sending snail mail, has found me much more interested in what my envelopes look like, rather than just what they contain.

I know that practice makes perfect, but the right tools also help things along the way. I found BayleeHart and MelissaEsplin‘s (photo source) posts that tell you what pens / brushes achieve what results, and I picked up my very own Faber-Castell PITT artist pen in black 199.

melissaesplin

Jones Design Company refined a long-held trick for creating faux calligraphy, and I recently came across Julie Blanner‘s post regarding an online course in calligraphy, which has been added to my to-do list.

Thanks to Pinterest, and – my newest love – the calligraphers who video their art on Instagram, I feel like I’m as ready as I’ll ever be to start putting my nib where my mouth is.

~Lainey