Tags

,

Sweet hub and I watched Bridge of Spies in preparation for the Oscars. During a rather benign scene, I levitated from my seat and gasped loudly, starting sweet hub (and the dog). I waved wildly at the screen, but nothing on it seemed to warrant my reaction. Once I rewound and paused in the perfect spot, I was able to share my surprise and glee — I have the same art as in the movie!
image

image

Truly, more than a piece of art, it’s a fabulous page from Studer’s Popular Ornithology. The Birds of North America, c. 1881. This is plate number LXVIII – “American or Red Flamingo” in crayon. Red Hen gifted me this fabulous pink bird some time ago, and I’ve always enjoyed it’s educational simplicity.

As the movie is based on a true story, I’m not sure if my art taste is similar to Donovan’s or the set designer – but it is a great cinematic moment for me either way.

And, if you haven’t seen it, and enjoy historical dramas, I’d highly recommend this movie – another Tom Hanks’ great.

~Lainey