Tags

, , ,

We all know that Lainey and I are always looking for a reason to throw a party. So when my brother and his lovely bride, Emily (it’s not weird that my sister-in-law has my same name, it’s weird that both of my sisters-in-law have the same name as me) were getting married, I was more than happy to get involved in the planning of the rehearsal dinner. Emily, aka Coach, is a retired cheerleader and Ted, is a former college football player. So it was only normal that we throw a good old fashioned tailgate party to celebrate their nuptials! Since I was involved, of course it had to have some vintage flair to it.

The restaurant took care of the food so all we had to do was figure out the decorations.

We started by creating custom invitations that featured a cute black and white photo of the happy couple and a flannel blanket background to give that vintage picnic feel.

invite

Then I created tickets for seating cards which allowed me to indicate the entree and dessert choices picked by guests (via an online survey – yes I’m an academic nerd).

seat.png

Finally, we collected vintage thermos, flannel blankets, and used my grandfather’s old pennant collection to create the collegiate-feel. We incorporated photos of the happy couple (current and some vintage ones).

At the tables, created runners using AstroTurf. Then, we found popcorn containers that we used in the centerpieces. Added some pompoms for fluff. Then created ants using spray-painted golf balls.

img_1501

Besides celebrating a beautiful couple, we kicked off the fun Michigan wedding with a rehearsal dinner for ridiculously fit people. The fact that I could incorporate a vintage feel was just a bonus.

Happy fall, yall!

~Emily