Tags

, , , , ,

January is a tough month for meal planning. New Year’s resolutions to get healthier conflicts with my desire for warm, insulating comfort food. Even though it’s not that cold, I want warm, stick-to-my-ribs food…not the rabbit, tasteless food that I should be eating. Add in the requirements of easy to prepare and time-saving, and I am basically sitting in the middle of my kitchen floor with my recipes, Pinterest app, and tears trying to figure out what’s for dinner. Holidays are over folks, time to get back to reality and it’s a cold one.

So for maybe more my benefit than yours, here is a list of 10 of my go-to comfort food recipes. Some are skinnier than others (balance is key). These are in no particular order.

15 Minute Lazy Noodles

Sprialized Turnip and Potato Au Gratin Casserole

Lasagna Soup

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili

Stuffed French Bread

Slow Cooker Zuppa Toscana

Crock Pot Cheeseburger Soup

Betty Crocker’s Chicken and Dumplings

One Pot Tortellini & Sausage I add spinach and use crushed tomatoes

Lainey’s Cheesey Enchilada Quinoa Bake (not sure where she found this one but ingredients and instructions are below)

Crockpot – 3-4 hours on high

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 ½ c uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 c frozen corn
  • 1 can diced tomatoes w chiles
  • ½ c salsa
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • ½ c diced onion
  • ½ c diced bell pepper
  • 1 c water
  • 1 can (19 oz) enchilada sauce
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 c cheddar/Mexican cheese mix, shredded
  • Toppings: sour cream, lime juice, green onions

Directions

In a large skillet, brown turkey; drain grease. Put in crockpot.

Add in quinoa, black beans, corn, tomatoes, salsa, and garlic. Dice onion & pepper, add to crockpot. Add water, enchilada sauce, chili powder, cumin, and stir. Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours. Add cheese & toppings to serve!

Stay warm and full my friends!

~Emily