Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Decorating the dining room table is kind of hard in the post-Christmas part of winter. Maybe it’s the stark contrast between the over-the-top decorations we had for the holidays and the seemingly bare replacement options, but figuring out what to put on the table for Jan/Feb was a little depressing. So I decided to embrace the cherry finish of the table and remove the table pads and cloth and go au natureal for a few months.

I didn’t want my table to be devoid of any color so I put a square embroidered cloth, I bought over Christmas in Norfolk, in the middle.  I loved the brightness of the red in this table cloth and it was a good price – there was no way I was leaving the shop without it. Here’s the thing, I can never remember the dimensions of my table (should probably put them in my phone) so I just buy linens that I like in whatever size and then make them work somewhere.

20170125_082227

Too small and wrong shape? Put it diagonally across the center.

20170125_082243

Too big? Fold it in half like I did for the light blue and white cloth I have on the wine cabinet.

20170125_082256

Once I had the cloth in place, I had to figure out what else would go on the table. I added the gorgeous crystal candlesticks my parents gave us for Christmas and grabbed some red candles. Then put the blue bowl in the middle. Finally, Ryan had the great idea to coil this wood garland – which was going to be thrown away!

20170125_082233

I love how it looks! If I want to Valentine’s it up, I can get out the red chargers and swap out the blue bowl for some red roses.

Moral of the story: don’t worry too much about dimensions, but pieces you love!

~Emily