Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend we hosted our friends for the Super Bowl and I have to say that this was probably the easiest party I’ve prepped for in a long time! I wasn’t planning on posting about the party so I only took some random photos, but I figured that these recipes are too easy and too delicious not to share. You’ll have to use your imagination or make the food to see how it turns out!

We had your typical Super Bowl party food: queso and guacamole. My guac is super easy: 4 avocados, 1 onion (red or yellow), 1-2 tomatoes, dash of garlic powder, pinch of salt, squirt of lemon juice. Mash the avocados and mix everything together. Taste and add more seasoning if needed.

I also made a party-staple for me: Buffalo Chicken Dip. This dip packs a serious flavor punch and the leftovers go great on baked potatoes, as sliders, on a salad, etc.

  • 2 cups shredded chicken
  • 8oz cream cheese – room temperature
  • 1/2 cup Franks buffalo sauce
  • 1 packet Ranch dressing mix
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 cup(ish) shredded cheddar cheese + extra to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix everything together – it’s ok if there are chunks of cream cheese (it’ll melt). Pour mixture into a 8×8 square baking dish. Sprinkle more cheese on top. Bake for 20 minutes. I serve with Fritos scoops. You can also have celery sticks or crusty bread.

My other main dish was Nick’s Famous Pulled Pork Sliders. Nick is a friend of mine who introduced me to this recipe and I am forever grateful.

  • 2-3 lb pork shoulder (depends on how many you are serving)
  • 1 onion sliced
  • 12 oz of light beer (I’ve use Coors Light and Miller Lite)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of white wine (depends on how much is in the bottle)
  • Garlic powder, salt, pepper to taste.
  • Sweet Baby Ray’s barbecue sauce
  • Cole Slaw mix
  • Cole slaw dressing (pick favorite brand)
  • Kings Hawaiian Rolls

Layer the sliced onion on the bottom of your crock-pot. Season pork and place on top. Pour in the beer and wine. Cover and cook on high for 4 hours or low 7-8 hours. Remove pork and discard onions and juices. Place pork back into crock-pot and shred (I pull 2 forks in opposite direction). Pour enough barbecue sauce to moisten the pork (don’t drench). Slice roll in half, put a spoonful of pork, and a spoonful of slaw on top and enjoy!

The last thing I made for the party were Snicker Chocolate Brownies. We have a ton of Halloween candy left over that I’ve frozen so I can upgrade plain brownies and cookies for the next year or so (there’s a lot of candy). I chopped up 12 fun size Snickers and folded them into the prepared brownie mix (just follow the directions on the box). Poured into the pan and set my timer. You’ll likely need to keep the brownies in the oven on the longer side to get them cooked quicker. The caramel and peanut of the candy with the extra chocolate-ness of the brownie was super addicting!

I got a bunch of yellow flowers at the grocery store and put them around the house – adding some of them to an arrangement Ryan had done for me earlier in the week (so sweet!)

 

We also bought some football themed paper plates and napkins to tie in the Super Bowl. My awesome friends all brought a dish or two. Then we let the game and commercials do the rest! (Ok not all of us were that into the game)

20170205_195451

These recipes are great if you are having a party, tailgate, or need something easy for dinner. Or you can be an awesome friend and bring one to your next party!

I’ll try to remember to start taking photos during the cooking process – just in case I need to share with you all!

~Emily