Tags

, , , ,

Ryan and I just got back from visiting my brother and his wife in Salt Lake City over spring break and we had a great. Not surprising is the beauty of the mountains (they almost surround the city) and the great skiing. What was surprising was the vibe of Salt Lake City and the fun things to do (like a ton of breweries).

Here’s a rundown of the things we did/enjoyed:

Day 1: Antiques and Brews (Ryan and my dream day)

We walked all over SLC on Day 1 (6.5 miles total) visiting random antique stores and breweries.

My favorites was the Capital City Antique Mall (959 S.W. Temple), as they had a little bit of everything. The 12-yr old inside of me got a giggle when I came across an display case dedicated to boobs.

20170306_122541.jpg

We also walked to City Creek Antiques which had some finer (more expensive) things, but admittedly got a little turned from there when Ryan found a Blanton’s bourbon decanter labeled “antique” with the label removed selling for $35. You can buy the same bottle today with the bourbon in it for $50. My favorite find at City Creek though was this unique lobster dish. It’s so ugly, it’s fabulous!

20170306_150532

Breweries we visited this day: Proper Brewing Co., Epic Brewing (had lunch there because you have to order food to drink there – limited menu of sandwiches), Squatters (liked this place), Fisher Brewing Company (really good beer – I even drank a whole cream ale). I am not a craft beer drinker but was able to find something to drink at almost all (I rehydrated at Epic)

Places we ate: Breakfast was at Pig in the Jelly Jar and our reaction was meh. We were hungry so it satisfied that, but I’d go somewhere else if you can. The biscuits and sausage gravy lacked flavor (and sausage). Dinner was Red Rock Brewing and was really good and has something for everyone. Get the brussel sprouts appetizer.

Day 2: Skiing at Brighton and Cooking Class

Ted (my brother), Ryan, and I went skiing while my sister-in-law had to work :(

Skiing Brighton was great – the snow was awesome thanks to a snowstorm a couple of nights before. The crowds were small since it was a weekday and the views were gorgeous!

This was Ryan’s first time skiing and he did great! He didn’t get too much snow in his beard from falling!

20170307_155437

Dinner was a cooking class at the Salt Lake City Culinary Center and was a really fun double date (wine was included)! Ryan definitely won the award for the prettiest poached pear!

Day 3: More exploring of Salt Lake City

Our last full day in SLC had a little bit of everything! We started the day with a delicious bagel from The Bagel Project (get there early they run out) and then shopped at this really cute store Emiliejayne (would’ve bought more if I had room in the suitcase).

We then made the short albeit super muddy (thanks snowstorm) steep hike up to Ensign Peak. This is the peak that Brigham Young hiked up to and determined that Salt Lake City should be built below. It is a great view of the city and mountains. Steep but not too strenuous and you can/should take your time getting up.

After our hike we tried Utah’s pride, Crown Burger. I wish I had gotten pictures of the dining room as it was the fanciest, fast food dining room I’ve ever seen. Not much made sense about the decor, but the fry sauce was really good and I enjoyed my milk shake (super thick so I had to eat it with a spoon).20170308_141651

After lunch, we walked around Temple Square where the Mormon Tabernacle is located. Depending on your level of interest and when you go (if you time it right you can observe the Mormon Tabernacle Choir rehersal or an organ concert in the hall) will determine how much time you spend. We walked around for about 30 minutes and then left. I will say, that everyone at Temple Square is really friendly and welcoming. The grounds, as expected, are incredibly well-kept and the architecture is beautiful.

20170308_151456

Dinner was at Flatbread Neopolitan Pizzeria and was delicious! Get the meatball appetizer and the Bianco Magnifico was my favorite pizza. We were able to share 3 pizzas between the 4 of us.

Like I said, I really enjoyed our visit to Salt Lake City! We always have fun hanging out with Ted and Emmie and have really missed them. I can’t wait to go back to SLC in warmer months and check out more of the outdoorsy stuff! We’ll also definitely be back for more skiing!

~Emily