Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been chronicling our foray into gardening this spring and hit a pretty big milestone this week, we got half of the backyard done! Over the holiday weekend and in between rain showers, Ryan and I got one side of the terraced garden completely cleared of ivy and weeds.

I wish I could say we had a design in mind or carefully researched plants that would work well in the area, but I can’t. We went to Lowes with an idea of wanting to find some flowering perennials and to get a couple of rose bushes for a different area. The rest of the plan was to see what caught our eye! And we rocked it!

To have some height in the background, we picked out two Camelot Lavender Foxgloves and two Aurora Blue Delphinium that we alternated. We’ve also got a dwarf crepe myrtle anchoring our tall plants that we planted last summer. I’m excited about the foxglove as people tell me it will spread to other areas in the yard.

20170529_155801

Then we did a row of Belleza White Gaura. I picked thisbecause of the whispy white and pink flowers and that it will fill out over time. We’ve got a lot of space that needs to be covered.

Next we did a couple of Butterfly Blue Pincushion flowers. I picked these pretty much for the same reason as the Gaura – pretty flowers and mounding. For variety, I also planted a purple Salvia and some red plant from the sale section (?). I guess we’ll see what it is if/when it blooms.

20170601_105326.jpg

In the front is the rows of impatiens that I planted a few weeks ago. I like having a border of annuals that can be changed out to add more color.

We have a row of Asiatic Lilies with a Gaura anchoring the end of the garden. I tried to pick out several different colors, but chose ones that haven’t bloomed yet, so I don’t know really what we’re getting. I do know for sure, one is purple and white and one is red, but the others are mysteries.

20170601_113400.jpg

Here’s a look at the whole thing!

20170601_105300.jpg

Finally, we created a small rose garden against the wall on the other side of the yard. Here we planted a Knockout rose bush, First Crush (supposedly the initial scent smells like a freshly opened bottle of champagne), and small white mounding rose (not sure the name).

Eventually we’ll tackle the other side of the garden, but for now, I’m just enjoying my pansies, bee balm plant, and flourishing herb garden.

 

 

How’s your garden doing?

~Emily