Tags

, , , , , ,

I had high hopes for a productive weekend toiling in the garden, pulling ivy, and planting more flowers. We are hosting a garden fundraiser at the end of June and my goal is to have my garden looking at little more polished. But alas, the rain has other ideas.

I have made some progress in between rain showers this week and hopefully will be able to take advantage of the wet soil to pull out those ivy roots (they’re really stubborn). Here’s a look at my progress (the before picture is on top):

20180415_121146

Besides the continual attempts of becoming a gardener (2 of my 3 roses came back and are looking really good), I’ve also added the simple project of turning wine bottles into tiki torches to the to-do list. I found this simple enough tutorial and plan on “collecting” several wine bottles over the next couple of weeks to try this out. I think it will look less “luau-y” than the wood torches we used last year.

finalblue

Since we don’t have a wood fence to attach the bottles to, I’m going to get a second split ring and attach it to a pole/stake. You can read how to get these for your next garden party here. (Safety note: This is an open flame so be careful!).

I love rainy days because they give me time/an excuse to look up ideas for more projects!

~Emily